Looking For An Lens Adaptor: Old AE-1 to T4i

NeverTooOld

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi! I'm new to TPF and am pretty much a retired novice. However, I have an older AE-1 and three lenses which I would love to add to the new T4i I just bought. Can't seem to find any info on whether an adaptor exists for this. Any suggestions?? Thanks!!

Welcome aboard.

Those old lenses are designated as Canon 'FD' lenses. Any of Canon's SLR cameras since they introduced auto focus are designated 'EOS'.
So what you want is an FD to EOS adapter. That should help your searching.

When Canon first went with AF SLR cameras, back in 1987, they switched the lens mount, so any of the older FD lenses would not fit on the new EOS (AF) cameras. This pissed people off, so Canon made an adapter. They are rare and expensive, as they were only sold to established pros at the time.
There are now several cheaper versions available, but they aren't perfect.

The main problem with using these adapters, is that by necessity, they move the lens further from the camera (film plane) than they were designed for. So, for example, if you bought one of the 'glassless' adapters, the lens could no longer focus to infinity. Might work for close up stuff, but otherwise not very useful.
So that is why most of the adapters have a lens element to them. This corrects for the increased distance (acting as a small teleconverter). The problem with that, is that your image quality will be subject to the quality of the lens element in the adapter...and they aren't known to be great.

So the usual consensus is that while it is possible, it's usually not worth the effort, unless you have some really good FD lenses.

Other issues are that (obviously) the old lenses won't auto focus on the modern camera. Also, the camera can't electronically control the aperture of the lens, so you'd have to do that manually.