Looking for beginner lenses

SilverFox

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to the camera world when it comes to anything above a point and shoot. I have a Canon XS and was wanting to upgrade to a better zoom lens. I would like to be able to photograph deer or birds out to about 100 yards with decent quality. I have no clue what I am looking for and I know no one personally who is into photography that I can ask. I don't want an "L" lens since I don't plan on spending that kind of money. I'm just looking for something decent to take some pictures with. I have seen the 55-250 lenses at a decent price but I don't know about the quality or the range. Thanks for any and all advice.

I have this lens, and it is relatively inexpensive. Just remember one gets what one pays for.

less expensive lens are not as good as more expensive lens...JMHO

Canon | EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens | 0345B002 | B&H Photo

397663.jpg

tamron 18-200mm lens ;) The only lens you should need ;) That I don't have ;) lol

I don't plan on spending a lot of money... Maybe if it's something I get into more then later but right now, it's just something I enjoy doing. I have tried reading the reviews on several lenses but like I said, I don't know the ranges of any of the lenses that I read the reviews on. My camera came with the 18-55 IS lenses but it just isn't cutting it. I want more range. One of my normal locations usually has tons of deer and ducks that are around 100 yards or so away. I would like to get some better pictures of them. Thanks for the replies and keep them coming. I'm hoping for several opinions and options.

In photography they call it 'reach'.

At 300 feet even a 300 mm lens will not give you much subject scale in the image.