Looking for Feedback on some product style shots...

sbatson

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi All,

I'm new to this forum, in fact this is my first post here. So Hi! I'm not a newbie photographer, I graduated from the New York Institute of Photography Home Study course a few years ago. I've been focusing on portraiture and weddings as a part-time business for the past few years, but I'm thinking I want to move more to commercial / product photography. I've thought about Stock as well, but it seems like a pretty diluted market from what I've seen. I don't have a lot of experience in the still life area since it hasn't been my focus.

In any case, here's a couple of images from my experimenting. Any helpful feedback is more than welcome. I just want to improve myself as much as I can in this area.

Thanks in advance. Here's the images:

robot2.jpg

robot3.jpg

Welcome to the forum.

The images look a bit soft, might be because of the relatively long exposure of 1/4 of a sec. Might be worth opening up the aperture to f8 - 11 and getting the faster shutter speed rather than f32, you'll still get full focus at those apertures and many lenses are sharper at around that setting.

Are you using flash or continuous light?

Welcome to the forum.

The images look a bit soft, might be because of the relatively long exposure of 1/4 of a sec. Might be worth opening up the aperture to f8 - 11 and getting the faster shutter speed rather than f32, you'll still get full focus at those apertures and many lenses are sharper at around that setting.

Are you using flash or continuous light?

Thanks...I'll check my focus...I was shooting at f14 and getting get one of the arms a bit soft with the rest being sharp. If you are thinking camera shake, I am shooting using mirror lockup, camera is on a tripod and I'm using a remote shutter release cable.

I tried with a Black background to eliminate the high contrast issues, how's this look?

robot4.jpg