looking to buy first dslr

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by immski, Oct 24, 2005.

1. immski

immski TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Im just a beginner in the area of photography but find myself addicted to it. I really want to take ly love farther and become a decent photographer. I feel that to do this I need a better camera. I was thinking of a dslr, but had no idea about what to look for in a camera or anything. I really want to get into a camera with many many features as it would help with my understanding of what variables exist in photography. I currently own a Fujifilm Fine Pix S3000. I love it but now realize there is so much more. Ok so that being said, these are my Questions:

1. What should I look for in a dslr to get me going?
    2. What are some good cameras that i should look at first? ( w/ approx. prices if possible)

2. jstuedle

jstuedle No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I would look at a few other threads on the topic recently posted here and at a site called dpreview. I would stay with Nikon and canon as they seem most able to support a systemwide approch to digital SLR's. I have shot Nikon for 35 years, and Nikon DSLR's for over 4 years. I am what I would call a Nikon snob, but you will find Canon users as adimitt for their brand. The other brands are either late to the party, or overpriced niche brands for the loyal collector/user.

3. photogoddess

photogoddess TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Ahhhhh - don't be dissin Minolta and Olympus. They both make an awesome camera as well. ;) (And I'm primarily a Canon shooter) :playball: :wink:

Check out DP Review, play with a couple of different brands and then make your decision. That way you'll be happy with your investment. :mrgreen:

4. RickyN29

RickyN29 TPF Noob!

Canon Rebel XT. Affordable, excellent, awesome.