Looking to get my first DSLR, some advice is appreciated.

Renae

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.m0sf3t.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone (my first post).

I'm still a beginner in photography, but I've been shooting for awhile now. My first camera was a Pentax K1000 with a 50mm and 135mm lens. I now currently still have that and also have a Minolta Maxxum 4 with lenses and a Canon Rebel T2.

Out of all of them, I like my Canon best

I'm looking to trade them in and get a DSLR, instead of film. Since I'm such a beginner, I think being able to see my mistakes that I'm making, as I'm making them will help me to really make a difference in my pictures. Especially since I don't have time in my life right now to take any classes.

But I'm not rich! And I have house payments and loan payments and cable payments.....I'm always stuck between....personal stuff or new stuff for the house.

Well, I got some quotes on what my camera stuff is worth
This what I would sell...
Canon Rebel T2 (body only)
Minolta Maxxum 4 (35-80zoom/70-210zoom)
Pentax K1000 (50mmfixed/135fixed*not quoted)

Well, the total for all of it from a camera reseller (probably can get more on ebay) is $400

So I'm a little curious about these things....
1) Would you sell your Pentax K1000 (my first camera), do I really need a film camera that I probably won't use?

2) I have been looking at the Rebel XT and Rebel XTi, but like I said, money is tight right now. I'm debating whether to get the XT or to save up for something a little more. I also will only have a basic 35-90mm lens for the new camera if I go with another Canon (the one I currently have).

I'm having a hard time letting go of my stuff, because they were gifts, but I really want a DSLR. I just want to make sure I'm making the right decisions and that I am making informed decisions.

Any, and I mean any, help and advice is appreciated.

--