Looking to go digital - what should I get?

butterflygirl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.photosbymcdonald.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello!

I currently have a film EOS Canon Rebel but hope to go digital. What camera would you recommend. I'd like to stay with a Canon, but am not sure what's good. What type of flash would you recommend as well? Right now I have a Pro Master 5500 flash. I already have 75-300 mm lens and the 28-90 mm lens.

I'm hoping to get into wedding photography/studio work. But as you can probably tell, I'm just getting started. I'm thinking I'll spend $500 to $1,000 - I hope. And I want a DSLR.

Any suggestions? I was thinking maybe the Canon 30d? Yes/no?

Thanks!

30d is a great camera. You may want to either buy a wider-angle lens, or get a 17-70 lens and sell the 28-90. With the crop factor of the 30d your 28-90 will behave more like a 44mm on the wide end.

The flash for a 30d could cost you as much as the camera, being Canon, I use the Canon 430EX on my EOS 350D, this can act as a slave too, but this is the cheaper flash, the new 400D is a nice camera, but again this will eat up the $1000 I think ( Im from UK and they are aroud £500 )

The Canon Rebel XT (350D) (discontinued) and the Rebel XTi (400D) would be very similar to your film camera. They are very good cameras and would be a good starting point. The 30D is the next step up in the Canon line...although, the XTi is a newer camera than the 30D. The 30D is bigger and the body is stronger. The controls and displays are laid out differently and the features are slightly different. The 30D is a fair bit more expensive as well. Which is best for you? That's for you to decide. I suggest holding both of them. The Rebels are small and light...too small and light for some. I've got a couple of 20Ds (the model before the 30D) and I love them.