Looking to go digital - what should I get?

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by butterflygirl, Feb 21, 2007.

1. butterflygirl

butterflygirl TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hello!

I currently have a film EOS Canon Rebel but hope to go digital. What camera would you recommend. I'd like to stay with a Canon, but am not sure what's good. What type of flash would you recommend as well? Right now I have a Pro Master 5500 flash. I already have 75-300 mm lens and the 28-90 mm lens.

I'm hoping to get into wedding photography/studio work. But as you can probably tell, I'm just getting started. I'm thinking I'll spend $500 to $1,000 - I hope. And I want a DSLR.

Any suggestions? I was thinking maybe the Canon 30d? Yes/no?

Thanks!

2. ericande

ericande TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    30d is a great camera. You may want to either buy a wider-angle lens, or get a 17-70 lens and sell the 28-90. With the crop factor of the 30d your 28-90 will behave more like a 44mm on the wide end.

3. Stevedevil

Stevedevil TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    The flash for a 30d could cost you as much as the camera, being Canon, I use the Canon 430EX on my EOS 350D, this can act as a slave too, but this is the cheaper flash, the new 400D is a nice camera, but again this will eat up the $1000 I think ( Im from UK and they are aroud £500 )

4. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit