LR2->LR3 - Transferring Catalogs/ratings/settings/etc

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by dcmountaineer, Nov 20, 2009.

  1. dcmountaineer

    dcmountaineer TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to transfer catalogs/ratings/edits/settings from one version of lightroom to the next? The reason I ask is that I currently have the 30-day trial of LR2 and I am thinking about hopping on the LR3 Beta to see what that's alll about.

    Is there an easy way to transfer the work I've already done like the catalogs, ratings, etc?

    Thanks
     
  2. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    The Beta is just a beta... It's not really meant to be your main program.

    But,

    As far as I can remember - when I upgraded from LR1 to LR2, my catalogs weren't an issue. They're saved separately from the software, so you just have to tell it where to look.

    All you have to do is import your catalog to the new version. I don't think I even had to do that, with the upgrade - I think it was just automatic.

    Worst case, all you have to do is import it.

    EDIT

    All of your ratings, settings, and all that are saved into the .XMP sidecar, which stays with the original photo (unless you moved or deleted it - which you shouldn't do).

    I'm sure LR3 will be able to read the sidecars from LR2. Not being able to would just be stupid - I'm sure Adobe is smarter than that.
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2009
  3. icassell

    icassell TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,893
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Arizona
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Someone who's using it should correct me, but I think I read that the Beta of LR3 won't import the catalog. I'm sure the final release will, however, or there will be a boatload of angry LR2 users out there who won't upgrade.
     
  4. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    You are correct.

    Straight from Adobe:

    http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/entitlement/index.cfm?e=labs_lightroom3

    EDIT

    Damnit. I wasn't going to download the beta. I was going to just wait till it was actually released...
    Well, I did it - because of you guys, lol.

    I haven't really messed with it a whole lot yet, but the first cool thing I noticed is that it looks like you can export directly to Flickr...
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2009
  5. DScience

    DScience No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,513
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    U can do that with LR2 also
     
  6. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    You can? How?

    edit
    I think I figured it out.
     
  7. dcmountaineer

    dcmountaineer TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm. I guess I'll just hang with LR2 for a while then and wait for the full version of LR3 to release.

    I havent downloaded LR3-Beta yet, so those who have can probably field this question. Can you only work with one image at a time? Does it not allow you to manage 'new' catalogs, folders? Or does it only not allow you to import catalogs?
     
  8. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    You can't import your existing catalog, but you can import your photos and make a new one.

    Any edits you did in LR2 are still there when you import.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how should i manage catalogs in settings in lr3
,
import from lr2 to lr3
,
importing photos from lr2 to lr3
,
lr2 catalog to lr3
,
moving from lr2 to lr3
,
moving images from lr2 to lr3
,
transfer lr2 catalog to lr3
,
upgrade lr2 to lr3
,

upgrading from lr 2 to lr 3

,

upgrading from lr2 to lr3