The_Traveler

Completely Counter-dependent
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
www.lewlortonphoto.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Preparing for a lecture tomorrow night and thought this image might be interesting.
This was taken with an EP3 on a tripod at 6400 ISO and is at 100% crop
noise illustration.jpg

I used Noiseware by Imagenomics to remove all the color noise to show the luminance noise and so on.
It seems an almost total absence of color noise (yay Olympus) but a good deal of luminance noise that was mainly correctable. I didn't work hard at this to try different algorithms but the Noiseware worked well for an example.

I've been using Imagenomic's Noiseware Pro for over 15 years now.
And that's about how long I've used their Portraiture retouching software too.

Interesting! I really should learn a bit more about correcting noise. Apertures NR slider was utterly worthless. Now that I have Lightroom I slide the sliders until it looks corrected but have no idea what I'm doing!

Most RAW converters remove colour noise in their default settings; just like they also apply a moderate level of sharpening so that you've a clear photo to work with (go ahead try turning off all sharpening on your RAWs).

So often as not by the time you read 3rd party noise removal software you've already lost most of the colour noise unless you were dealing with a very noisy shot.