Lunar Photography

rwalsh81

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm going to be on Cape Cod in the next couple of weeks and want to try and get some night time shots including the moon. I'm shooting on a Canon SL1, would I be good with a 70-300mm lens with a 2x extender attached?

Hi and welcome to the forum.
Usually 70-300mm should have a maximum opening of f5.6. With a 2x extender that would be f11. That would give you a shutter speed of around 1/100th at ISO 200 for the moon in a clear night, which is fine if you have a good tripod.
With the 600mm and the 1.6x crop factor of your camera, the moon would cover a little less than 1/3 of the height of your image.
Does that help?

Thanks for the reply. I'm still new to photography so some of what you said is still a little to jargon filled. But from what I can understand that's the long way of saying as long as it's clear and you're using a tripod I'm good to go.

Haha, yes - exactly ;) . Use spot metering on the moon, or manual exposure though (dialing in f11 Aperture | 1/100 Shutter Speed | 200 ISO), otherwise the moon will very likely be overexposed if you use the full auto mode.

Great thanks. I'm still learning but have been able to get some great shots, I do like doing the manual shots and plan to get some good ones. I'm looking at picking up the 24mm next week before I leave to get some nice sun rise shots over the ocean too. But this is also in preparation for next month's eclipse, I've got my filter ready to go. Although I wish I could find one that will keep a little more color to the picture, but that's for another board.