Macbook (13") vs. Macbook Pro (15")

laurah

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am trying to decide between the high end black Macbook with 13.3" widescreen display or the low end Macbook Pro with 15" widescreen display. There doesn't seem to be too many other differences between the two other than the graphics, the screen size and resolution (1280 x 800 vs. 1440 x 900), and the multi-touch touch pad on the Macbook Pro.

I use my laptop as a desktop replacement and am on it every day for web browsing, email, and some photo editing. I am just getting started in photography as a hobby and don't do a lot of editing at this time, but I expect that to be increasing as I have started using RAW format. I will most likely be using Aperture and PS Elements along with my Canon software. I also plan to do some digital scrapbooking (using PS Elements) where I may be working on layouts up to 12" x 12". I do want my laptop to be somewhat portable and have ruled out the 17".

I have some concern that the 13.3" will be too small for the photo editing / digital scrapbooking. I'm also not sure about the glossy screen on the 13.3". Would the glossy screen be better or worse for photo editing?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions you can give me.

Laura

Honestly, laptop screens in general are just bad for photo editing. I would suggest getting the macbook and maybe spending the money you save on a good monitor.

Yeah, I've heard that before... I do have a CRT monitor that I could connect the MacBook to if I needed to. I really prefer sitting on my couch with my laptop while I'm working and not in the office where my monitor is, so my guess is that I won't use it much, but it is there if I need it.

Thanks for the comment.