Macro and Fisheye

MarkXS

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
ive been looking for some cheap alternatives to a macro and fisheye lens and found out about the macro and fisheye adaptors that are very inexpensive. im wondering if i should buy one of these to go on a lens i already have or should i just buy an actual macro or fisheye lens?

Like this Fisheye..

Or this "macro"

Last edited:
As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
There was quite a bit of discussion about macro lens alternatives here a month or so ago. Being a landscape photographer, I don't particularly spend all that much time in the world of macro, but for the odd photo where I want to get in close I have a filter kit.

Fun with Macros « Ben Short

The filters are fine for my needs. Someone rightly pointed out that while extension tubes are a bit more expensive, they are a bit more versatile and will generally provide a better quality photo.

If you are going to get "cheap" filters, be careful as you get what you pay for. Cheap filters will generally leave you disappointed with photos that have chromatic abberations, colour shift, and softer focus. Having been bitten, I tend to buy the most expensive filter I can afford.

Hope this helps.

I have one of those 5 dollar extension macro tubes from Hong Kong and it's a fun little thing. Of course it's nothing serious but for 5 dollars why not right? As long as the subject isn't moving i.e. flowers in wind or bee's or something like that then you're good. You're shutter speed will be around 15 seconds if you don't have a lens with an aperture ring because it stops all the way down.
TJ