Macro Photography - camera advice

mikeshep

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi from Mike in Michigan USA.

I appreciate that i'm jumping into a complex world of options here so i'm hoping you can point me down the shortest path to a simple solution.....

Here's the deal. Am trying to do finish a rather big project i started last Spring. Have very little time to work on it but it's basically shooting a huge collection of vintage diecast model cars, Macro shots - of each individual model. Started it with a friends Kodak Easy Share - just happened to be what was here and handy. Got a couple hundred done. Camera was cumbersome for me. I am an admitted total amateur on this - but got some good shots with proper lighting, placement with whiteboard backdrop etc. I had to give the camera back as my friend needed the camera back and I just don't have anything else right now.

What i need is to learn what would be the EASIEST, least complex, and economical - Camera - for this task...one that a non-photographer can very easily understand and use pretty much outta-the-box (point & click simplicity with the simplest learning curve). I can't spend big bucks - and these don't have to be works of art - more a utilitarian task of inventory-taking for this collection - which has hundreds of individual pieces to shoot. I just need good macro detail and something that will get the job done with minimal time investment required.

I know this is an art form unto itself but again, this is more of an inventory job - photos need to be clean and sufficient for showing the collection in an archive for evaluation etc. I don't know if i'm doing this right but, to give an idea of what i'm shooting, here's a link to some of what i started - posted to Photobucket.
Image hosting, free photo sharing & video sharing at Photobucket

Many thanks for your time reading through all this, and i appreciate any
help and recommendations!

Best Regards

Mike