Macro Pics and Lighting Question

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by develonet, Jul 13, 2007.

1. develonet

develonet TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I am a total noob here and to photography and am looking for some expert advice. I have a few questions on how to take good close up shots of products for my clients. I just bought an Olympus Evolt 330 with a stock lens kit but do not have any special lens or filters. I do have a tripod though. I also built my own photo tent or light box out of white nylon and the pieces I put in this box look really great and well lighted. However, my pics are coming out kind of dark and yellowish. I have been trying different ISO settings,flash/no flash, and scene settings besides macro but still am having the same issue. The flash does make things better but is too harsh.

Anyway, I am looking for some pointers on what to set my camera at and what I need to do to get better quality close up shots without spending a ton of money on a high end lens. I guess the lighting issue is my biggest hang up right now. I just don't understand how something so well lit and bright ends up looking yellowish and dark. PLEASE HELP!

2. JIP

JIP No longer a newbie, moving up!

Well one suggestion I might have is that if your images are looking yellowish this might be a white balance issue. Try adjusting your white balance to "Incandescent" I'm not sure what the setting is on Olympus but that's what it would be on Nikon. A big help for everyone would be to show us a sample of what you are not pleased with.

3. Garbz

Garbz No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Pictures are coming out dark because the white background is fooling the light metre in the camera. You need to use exposure value compensation or shoot in manual to override the exposure the built in metre tries to give you.

4. djh photo

djh photo TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit