rfosness88

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey,

So I just bought a Canon 40D and am a total noob. I have no lens. I was wondering what makes a lens a macro lens. I Know they are good for closeups of bugs and marijuana. I think macro lenses

1. Can a 50mm lens be macro?
2. If so, is a x-300mm lens a better macro than a 50mm macro?
2. Does a lens that is x-300mm automatically make it a macro lens?

Thanks for the help.

A macro lens is a special-purpose lens that is designed to focus closely enough on the subject that it can produce a 1:1 image; that is, if the subject is 10mm across in real life, its image will take up 10mm of your sensor. Macro lenses can be almost any focal length, but are mostly commonly found between 50 and 150mm.

Many of the consumer grade zoom lenses which say they have a macro mode (such as the 70-210 that almost everyone made a version of) aren't in fact true macro lenses; they can produce images of half size or one-third size at best (1:2, 1:3). The advantage to focal length in true zooms is the ability to get further back from the subject. In other words, with a 60mm macro lens, I might have to be three inches away to get a 1:1 close-up, but with a 150mm macro, I can be twelve inches away. A distinct advantage if you're shooting jump insects.

@tiredironThanks, that helps a lot!

one more question, Does a macro lens only shoot closeups? Could i also take good telephoto pictures with a 70-300mm lens that is designated to be "macro".

Closeups of marijuana? Lol.

You can take pictures of anything with a 70-300. They just have to be within your focusing range. So if you're focusing range is a metre, then you can focus (theoretically) from one metre in front of you to infinity, and have your camera take the picture.

Closeups of marijuana? Lol.

I'm glad someone else wondered about that. . .