macs r better?

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by Osmer_Toby, Mar 26, 2004.

1. Osmer_Toby

Osmer_Toby TPF Noob!

well, i did a recent 180 degree turn- i was pricing laptops, exclusively pc's since that was what i knew and had always used. did not realize there was such an advantage to going mac- i had an inservice today on imovie- some pretty cool stuff. anyway, the instructor convinced me that pro image editors, including pro photogs, use mac almost exclusively.

any thoughts? anyone know macs well and can make recommendations? i have about 2k to spend....

2. Skyeg

Skyeg TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    i know macs pretty well. i use both G4's and G5's as well as some really nice pc's . i use the same version of photoshop on both. i have rarly seen much of a difference in performance. the macs i use are more expensive then the pc's. i personaly would never buy a mac. the difernece in performance in no way justifys the price differnece. the thing about using a pc for video and photo editing is just getting the right stuff. i put SCSI hard drives in mine. its much faster then EIDE. if you get a fast procesor, good hard drives, good ram (and a lot of it 512MB+, preferably 1GB+), a good graphics card and a good monitor then the difference will be minimal.

i would never recomend that anyone buy a mac unless they just like them more and have money to waste. get the best PC you can afford and it will be as good or better then a mac and there will be more software and peripherals you can use with it, also it will be more upgradable then any mac.

3. Osmer_Toby

Osmer_Toby TPF Noob!

ahhhh, thank you thank you thank you. i was hoping someone like you would come along and tell me that- i was dreading making the switch, just cause of the extra learning.

thanks for reply, dude- i appreciate it! :D

4. markc

markc TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit