Majoring in Anthropology???

Discussion in 'Off Topic Chat' started by Ccauceg, Aug 30, 2008.

1. Ccauceg

Ccauceg TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    So im in my second year in college and I have been looking around for a major, and its been hard. The more I think about it the more I want to do anthropology. I have been doing alot research on the department and the classes seem pretty good for me. What i am asking is, is there anyone around here that is/has majored in anthropology. How where the classes? Does it consist of alot of writing and reading? Any information would be great.

Thanks

2. Phranquey

Phranquey TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I didn't major in anthropology, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express...:lmao:

Seriously, though, I did take an Anthro class in school, and the one thing I can tell you is that you can almost create your own field of study, and study is the operative word. I think the loose definition is "study of humankind", which leaves any specialty available. You can go archaeological, physical, cultural, ethnic, linguistic, folklore, religious etc, etc, etc.... Anything having to do with groups of people. There is probably even a cuisine anthropology.

3. abraxas

abraxas No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Wish I would have. Over the last 15 years or so I've become extremely interested in protohistoric desert cultures and would love to have had a career in archaeology. Something I've noticed though, in developing my interests I've spent huge amounts of time reading and researching papers that took huge amounts of time to research and write by authors in the disciplne.

4. flygning

flygning TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I'm majoring in anthropology. In fact, I'm in my last semester...and I'm not sure I'll get out alive :p