Megapixel Question with DSLR lenses

JFPhotography

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm still fairly new to the world of photography and DSLR. I got a Nikon D5300 a few months ago and I love the camera and it's great as I'm learning. I've been reading about lenses lately and read something about how the 18-55 kit lens only shoots around 9 megapixels even though the camera is capable of 24 MP. I have two questions:

1 - Is that actually the case with the lens?

2 - When looking to upgrade my lens at some point, what technical spec should I look for, say on the website for Nikon, Tamron, Sigma, etc...to see how many MP the lenses are capable of?

Thanks. Sorry if it didn't make a ton of sense the way I put it.

This is kind of true but not really.

When someone makes a MP description with a lens, it's not that it's a 9mp lens. What they are saying is that the quality of the lens is such that it is reducing the image quality down by a certain percentage. This in turn takes the 24mp camera's detail and degrades it to that of a 9mp camera.

Think of it as the difference between the cleanest glass imaginable compared to wax paper. One will give you near 24mp, the other 1mp.

So to answer the two questions.
1 - yes the kit lenses are not the best quality and don't give you the best performance but if you're just starting out it will do you just fine to learn with.

2 - For the upgrade you'll want to look at a few things such as image sharpness across the frame, vignetting etc. Image quality for some lenses is the top feature while others have a look or feel that is more important.

At this point I would just learn the most you can with what you have. Figure out where you're kit is letting you down. Then you can narrow your selection and have a much smaller selection of things to research.

Welcome to the forum!