Middle school photography club

teachflute

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I would like some opinions. I am a middle school teacher and my students would like me to be an advisor to a photography club. I am very much an amateur. I have taken a few classes and have a love for photography. I have some ideas about things I would like to focus on with them, but I would love to hear your opinions on some activities I can do with them.

Photojournalism project!!! I always used to love those back in secondary school. I've always thought that it was great for learning about composition.

Otherwise, maybe taking pictures of passing cars to learn about exposure? Some night time shots?

Portrait work, and photojournalism. Most people primarily deal with photography to capture images of loved ones, and special events. you should have two distinct projects: taking pictures of a family member or two, possibly in an environment that reflects who they are. The other is documenting a special event - some town fair or parade, or graduation, a birthday party, whatever is easy to have access to.

You could have two slide shows during the school term - one of good portraits, one of good event photography. You can google the images - everything from a good (non-posed) wedding shot to the shooting of Lee Harvey Oswald as he left the police station.

Teach them not to always centre the subject...and that on-camera flash is terrible. Then they will know more than most people :lol:

Maybe find a good beginners book, like 'Understanding Exposure'...or something like that. Maybe use it as a loose lesson plan of sorts. It may not be good to overwhelm them with too much info...but just let them know that there is a lot of stuff to learn...if they are interested. On the other side of things...they probably just want to go out and shoot...so giving them assignments would be great.