Mirror Lockup w/ XTi using remote...

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Turnerea, Dec 11, 2008.

  1. Turnerea

    Turnerea TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I'm using a Canon RC1 remote to trigger the shutter on my XTi, and also trying to use the mirror lockup feature (trying to get rid of all vibrations to capture detail on the moon).

    I've found that the only way to use the mirror lockup with the remote is to have the remote in "2 second delay" mode. Is 2 seconds enough for the vibrations to die out?? I'd ideally like to be in the normal mode, trigger once to get the mirror up, wait LONGER than 2 seconds, then trigger again to take the picture. Anyone have any success trying this sort of thing? Probably applies to all Canon remote/camera combinations I'm guessing.
     
  2. Jklersy

    Jklersy TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    I live in MN
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    ther should be a CFn you can change to lock the mirror up, it only lasts ten minutes then you have to do it again though. At least thats on my XT
     
  3. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    2 seconds should be long enough for the vibrations to die off. The mirror is pretty small/light, I wouldn't expect it to cause a vibration lasting longer than a few tenths of a second.
     
  4. Turnerea

    Turnerea TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I've actually done some comparisons inside to isolate the effects of the vibration after 2 seconds, and as thought by others here, its not much of an issue. I think that I've done everything I can, and the moon is just really fuzzy still..... guess I'll just have to drive out the LA air basin- hopefully that'll fix it- otherwise I'll be in the market for some more glass!
     
  5. Overread

    Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    23,098
    Likes Received:
    3,765
    Location:
    UK - England
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    The remote should allow you to use the mirror lock up without the timer. I use the timer function only when I don't have a remote and so have to press the camera shutter button myself.
    I can't think why there would be a problem - I just set my camera to mirror lockup mode - connected in the remote and then used the remote as the shutter button normally.
     
  6. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,818
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Yes, you shouldn't need both a remote and the timer.

    As far as I know (from the cameras I have or have seen) the timer defaults to 2 seconds when you enable mirror lock up. I don't know if there is a way around that
     
  7. Overread

    Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    23,098
    Likes Received:
    3,765
    Location:
    UK - England
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I don't think there is a work around for that - its auto set to 2seconds for me and I never could find any mention or way of extending that time.
    Using it with a remote is the best way
     
  8. Tolyk

    Tolyk TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    You could always try a cable release instead of the infrared remote. There are cheap cable releases available by companies like Cameron. I don't know how much of a difference it'll make, haven't personally tested out the mirror lock-up feature overly much.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
%22mirror+lockup%22 remote
,
canon xti mirror lock up
,

canon xti mirror lockup

,
canon xti mirror lockup live view
,
mirror lock on rebel xti
,
mirror up in my xti
,
mirror up xti
,
rebel xti mirror lock
,

xti mirror lock up live view

,
xti mirror lockup remote 2 sec