Mirrorless/Point-and-Shoot for Long-term travel

kuma_man

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello everyone, I'm going to be an exchange student now looking for a camera suitable for multi purposes. I'm not a total beginner so I've got some basic knowledge of photography.

But I found it really difficult to get a versatile camera within 800 USD which is perfect to bring it along everyday.

I plan to use my camera mainly for taking landscape photos, street photography and some portraits. Basically to record my daily life. I also wish to have a camera with good low light performance to shoot photos and videos in a concert, it should have a high optical zoom rate.

I have two point shoot cameras and the sony a6000 on my list.
1. Sony RX10 ii (a second hand one)
2. Panasonic ZS100
Both shoot in 4K. The RX10 ii has a constant aperture f2.8 which is great for low light. But it's too bulky to carry around everyday compared with the ZS100 (also seems to be a bit heavy for girls). And I'm worried that the ZS100 doesn't perform well when it's zoomed in at 200mm under low light condition...

The second option for me is the a6000. I'm struggling what lenses should I go for: the 16-50mm and 55-210mm kit lenses or a prime lens (sigma 30mm f1.4/sel28f20/sigma 19mm f2.8) with a sel55210.

What's your opinion? I really can't decide. Any other recommendation? Thanks so much!

Sony RX100 IV

OMD EM10 with 14-42 and 40-150

I have the Sony a6000 and the two zooms. If I were you, I'd look into buying buying used from a reputable seller such as B&H or KEH.com so you could try to fit the camera, the two zooms, and the prime (personally I would choose the Sigma 30, but that's my personal preference.)