Mission: Impossible...?

Josh66

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I knew this would happen eventually...

I have been asked to shoot a wedding that will take place in one month, inside a bar. I do not have ANY experience with weddings, or even anything where opinions other than my own even matter. I don't even have a flash (yet - I'll be getting one soon whether I do this or not).

The only good news is that they don't expect me to do it for free.

If I accept, I think I'll have a lot of learning to do, fast. I'm not sure how high the expectations are going to be...

If I decline, there will likely be no photos taken other than photos taken by the guests with P&S cameras and/or phones.

Who gets married in a bar...?!?!

The light is going to suck, obviously - so a flash will be an absolute requirement. I will probably have about two weeks to learn as much as I can about flash photography. (I've never used flash before, other than the pop-up flash.)

It will be business as usual at the bar - there will be people there other than the wedding guests. Not sure how crowded it's going to be.

I think I *might* actually be able to pull it off, but I don't know if it's even worth trying... I think, in general, I know what I'm doing. But more specifically, I've never done this before, so who knows...

Gear I plan on buying very soon (I was going to buy all of this before I even found out about the wedding):
580EX
Diffuser, Bouncer, Reflector
Cable for off camera shooting
*Maybe* a flash bracket - undecided on that.

Would it be 'doable' with the above additions to my kit (the rest can be seen in my profile)?

My only concern (as far as gear goes) is that 50mm is going to be too long (on a crop sensor) for shooting inside a bar. The only lens wider than 50mm that I have is the 18-55 kit lens.