mixture of B&W photography

bry05

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi, this is my first attempt at B&W photography, i just took pictures of things/scenes/people that interest me, thanks for looking and I welcome comments.

bike1.jpg

bikewheel.jpg

gears.jpg

grapes.jpg

tank.jpg

severn.jpg

kellytrain.jpg

thanks for looking

The subjects and the framing are ok, but I think the b/w needs a little work. They're very flat/grey.

The bike in the first two are a good example. The tires on the bike are naturally black, but after the conversion they're grey. Check out some of the tips here on the forum for converting to b/w using the channel mixer.

Keep trying, you've got a good start :thumbup:

hi, there is no conversion, these shots were taken using black and white film using a film slr, so i am a little puzzled as to the comments regarding the B&W conversion.

ha, digital gets schooled :)

but in all honesty, i too feel the B&W needs work in the contrast and color division. i often under expose my B&W shots too get less grey and more black and white areas. if you develope your own there is a lot more that you can do in the department but dont ask me.

and cool pictures

I will definitely encourage one who is using B&W film. (!!)

I like your mixture of pics but feel the need to add to the quality-of-post commentary. I shoot B&W film all the time and I think the first thing to try with all these would be to go to the Channel Mixer option in your photo-manipulation sofware and check the MONOCHROME box. That will get rid of the slight tint I am seeing. Then some levels adjustments to the first three will possibly bring out some details in the highlights and add some tonal seperation.

Keep shooting!

Tuna