Monolight with Canon SL1

cmc800

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm fairly new to photography. I just got a Canon SL1 and three speedlites including two Canon 550EX lights and a 430EX light. I have the speedlites working via a Canon ST-E2 transmitter that sits on top of the camera. I am now thinking of getting some monolights. First, do I need to connect the monolight to the camera by a cord or can it be set off by the ST-E2? And if I do need to connect via cord, do I need to get a hot shoe adapter TTL Hot Shoe Adapter Base for Canon Fovitec since I understand the SL1 doesn't have a PC sync port? If so, this confuses me because the ST-E2 sits on top of the camera and I understand that the hot shoe adapter also sits on top of the camera. Last question - will I be able to operate the monolight with the ST-E2? If not, how is this done? Thanks.

Turning on the monolight's optical slave trigger should allow it to fire and synchronize with the speedlights...at the speed of light.

Thanks! Do you think the ST-E2 would be able to control the monolight like it does with the speedlites or would I probably need a cord to the PC sync port for that to work?

Most monolights are controlled, meaning power adjusted, modeling light adjusted for power or tracking, etc., by hard switches on the back of the light unit itself, so no, I do not think you will be able to control the light remotely, only synchronize it with the Canon speedlights. I don't know for sure though. Maybe it's possible there is a monolight you have in mind that *is* able to handle remote commander adjustment.

Monolight flash units have long been available, and there are some that can be commanded using various remotes, but there are many more models that just use hard switches/dials/sliders for their control features.

Thanks! I really appreciate the info and this is very helpful!