Moon and Night Sky Shots...how do you do it? Need help

DerekSalem

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Here's my question...how do you take Moon shots? Below are 2 shots which are obviously horribly taken. They were both done on a tripod and on a timer (I have a remote but it's 20 degrees outside and I didn't have gloves on so I just hit the timer). The camera was *COMPLETELY* still throughout the shots.

As you can see from the EXIF, the first shot was 20-second shutter speed and the second was 15. I tried longer speeds (25 and 30) but both came out exactly as these 2 but brighter. I'm at the lowest f-stop I can get (f/6.3) and both are at ISO100 (which I've heard is the best to take night shots with).

What exactly am I doing wrong? They were taken with the new T2i and a Sigma 18-200 3.5/6.3 lens. Here are the shots:

1 (20 sec)
4408303260_ec8c8713e0_b.jpg

2 (15 sec)
4408303262_14a9c9e3dd_b.jpg

Oh and I also tried 5 and 10 seconds...same effect but darker.

I'm just going to guess already that I need to raise the shutter speed significantly...

The moon moves pretty far in 15 seconds, especially when it's lower in the sky (apparent, not literally of course).

Another problem is it looks like the lens is foggy.

Finally, it's way overexposed. Make sure you meter off the moon with spot. Scene evaluative is going to blow it out because of all the black.

Here is my moon shot from a couple of nights that I took trying to help someone else
As others have said you need a faster shutter as the moon moves pretty quick and the distance only makes it appear worse on slow shutter pictures.
14bniog.jpg

You need a faster shutter speed because the Moon is so bright, not because it and the Earth are moving.

Well it looks like I'll be out there again tonight trying to get a good shot =P It was a bit cloudy yesterday too which didn't help but at least this time I'll be going out with much better knowledge of how to get the shot.