Moon Shot

tresguey

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been trying to take a decent shot of the moon for a while. I am new to photography and this is getting me frustated. I used my D90 with the 70-300mmVR on it using the timer and tripod. VR was off as well as the auto focus. This time i played around with ISO around 100 equiv. This shot was the best at ISO of .7 or i think 125 equiv. I know it sucks. Any hints would be greatful. I have the white balance set at tung/incandescent if that even matters? i'm not sure.
042.jpg

Hmmmm......... I am no expert, but something is askew.... Seems like the focus is off. What happens when you shoot, full auto, with VR on, with tripod, and dial in the focus? I just got a Nikon D90, and shot this image with the 18-200 VR, handheld and I tweaked in the focus manually, let the camera take care of everything else.....

DSC_0016.jpg

I have the D90 and the 70-300VR. I just tried to think of how I did it with film. So I turned off the automatic ISO business and set it to 200. Not being sure of the speed and finding out it changes from 1 moon to the next I use the bonus of digital over film. Take a shot, look at it, take another til I l figure I have a couple that I'll have to look at on the computer to decide which has better detail to pick from. Last time I started at 1/60 and worked my way up to 1/1250.

5.6, 1/1250, ISO 3200, Center weighted meter, 300mm, hand held EDIT - thought I turned off auto ISO. Usually do for this. See bottom for a ISO 200 moon.

Original
Moonoriginal4727resized.jpg

Crop
Moon4727cropx2resized.jpg

F5.6, 1/400, ISO200, 300mm, pattern meter
Moon4868ISO200resized.jpg

Last edited:
Dao - thanks for the link. Printed off when I got to work (ssshhhhh).

I just use a shutter speed that matches my zoom and adjust aperture to my liking.

If I'm at 200mm I use 1/200 for shutter speed and usually between f/5 and f/11 yields good results.

White balance stays on Auto.