Moving to FF for college student

swrphotographic

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everyone! Since 2005 I have owned a Canon Rebel XT with the 18-55mm kit lens. I have gotten back into photography and obviously this setup is very old. I have pretty much pushed the limits of this hardware and I desire much higher quality photographs. I would really like to go full frame, however I am a completely broke college student. Here is what I was thinking:

Sell all of my gear. I also have two film cameras with two other lenses, a 28-90 4 - 5.6 and a 80 - 200 4.5 - 5.6 I think if I sell of all of it I ma be able to get around $650 total.

I was thinking about buying a Canon 5d from B&H for about $500 and then purchasing a 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 EF also used from B&H for about $150.
Here is the camera: Used Canon EOS 5D Digital Camera (Camera Body) 0296B002 B&H
Here is the lens: Used Canon Zoom Wide Angle-Telephoto 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 C219701

I really want a 6D with a 17-40 2.8 but it could be years before I have that kind of money. Do you really think I will see a big difference if I do the swap that I listed above? Also, does anyone have another idea? Thanks!
If you'd like to see what kind of photographs I take you can see them here: Master Gallery by Photographs by Steven Russell

My main question is why on earth do you want to buy such an old camera ?
Just because its FF ?
FF has few advantages over crop sensor camera, the main 2 reasons is a shallow DOF and better low light performance.
It also has some drawback especially loosing the crop factor thus getting less reach on your lenses.
Honestly the most basic crop sensor made by Nikon the D3300 just kills the 5D in low light and has double the MP and cost about the same, add to that that you are getting a brand new camera which has much better dynamic range.
The only advantage I can see the 5D has over the D3300 has a shallower DOF

I just don't see the logic in this buy!

I agree.