Mr. Love

Mekstar

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey all, I'm new to TPF. I wanted to post a shot I took of my cat yesterday, to see what you guys think. This shot was taken indoors with my Pentax *ist DS, f/4.5, 1/60 sec. ISO 200. I worked the tones slightly in Adobe Lightroom afterwards. Let me know what you think. Comments & suggestions please.

Mr_Love.jpg

The only time I like selective coloring is with eyes. Nice job; you captured your cat well (although you did cut off the tips of his ears; watch out for that in future times), and the lighting is perfect! :thumbup:
Oh, and welcome to TPF. :mrgreen:

Am I wrong, I didn't see that as selective coloring...I thought that was the coloring of the cat...in any case...Very cool shot...I like it

Am I wrong, I didn't see that as selective coloring...I thought that was the coloring of the cat...in any case...Very cool shot...I like it

No, you're right. It is a full color shot taken against a dark bg. The cat is light grey and white in color. I adjusted the following in Adobe Lightroom;

Temp 5000
Tint +10
----------------
Exposure +1.73
Recovery 78
Fill Light 64
Blacks 30
----------------
Brightness 0
Contrast 0
----------------
Vibrance +97
Saturation -76

Here is the original...

Mr_LoveOG.jpg

Like I said just a few slight tweaks...

Thank you both for the positive feedback. I just got my Pentax a few days ago and am very excited to get back into photography. I took a 6 year break from it and now wishing I never had. It's not like riding a bike, I forgot a whole lot of tricks I used to know. Also switiching from 35mm photography to DSLR is big difference. Expecially after such a long break.

I love this picture!!!! I was a little disapointed though that his/her ears and nose are cut off. Watch out for that... I think it lost a lot of impact with the those parts cut off. You did a great job (in my eyes) editing it in Adobe Lightroom.