My 2 cents about the Sony DSLR-A55 SLT

dxqcanada

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have decided to write up something in this camera for those Sony/Minolta users in this Forum ... especially since discussions on Canon/Nikon are the dominant manufacturer.

The Sony SLT's are something I think many Sony/Minolta digital users would have questions about ... I know I did before I bought it.

Just got the camera on Saturday, so I have not had time to put it through the ringer ... but I thought I would post my initial impressions.

Background ... I have been shooting Film since 1986. I only got into Digital with the Sony DSLR-A100 about 5 years ago.
I am still getting used to the transition from shooting manual exposure with a Canon new F-1 SLR to a DSLR.

Most of this information is relative to my experience with the Sony DSLR-A100.

First impression ... there is a big difference in the viewfinder. This thing reminded me of my Canon's giant bright viewfinder. I can see for miles through this and it is very comfortable with my glasses on. I always had a issue with how small APS-C DSLR viewfinders have.

EVF, this was one thing I thought would take me time to get used to ... and it was not. It does not annoy me.
The EVF has a very high resolution so I really did not see it as an LCD screen. As I have never had a camera with Live-View, it is nice to "see" changes in exposure/colour as I adjust the camera settings ... and really nice to have that in the viewfinder.
There has been many comments stating that the EVF colours are not all that accurate, and they are possibly correct ... but I only use the viewfinder for composition and focus. That brings me to manual focusing ... the EVF has high enough resolution to be able for me to shoot in MF, actually it is easier than doing it with my A100 (also having more focus points does help) as the viewfinder is easier to look through.