My Brother Leaving for Bootcamp

mello_yello_16

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My brother was leaving for bootcamp. Comments?

leavingforbootcamp022.jpg

You definitely caught the moment. You used a nice wide aperture to focus on the two of you. On the critical side, I don't see why you chose ISO 400 (rather than a lower ISO number), and also it looks like you didn't use any fill flash to lighten up the shadows in front of the subjects. That's about all I can think of. :thumbup:

Thanks for your input. All I have right now is the basic Canon Digital Rebel with the standard lens that it comes with. I'm still learning the ropes. What exactly do you mean by fill flash?

You can photograph just about anything with the kit lens. It may not be the sharpest lens out there, but you can still work with it to get very good photos. Fill flash is using the flash to fill shadows on your main subject (ideally while exposing for the rest of the scene as well lol). Your eyes may not be trained yet to notice the shadows (I had to look twice to notice) but, once you see enough professional photos you will have a better idea of what the lighting should look like. I'm not sure how the flash settings work on Canons, but on my Nikon I find setting the flash compensation to -.7 is good for most close-up shots and helps you avoid a lot of that nasty direct flash (as in aimed straight ahead at the subject) effect.

Last edited:
You may also want to try stopping the aperture down to something like f/7 or f/8 to help with the sharpness. At 55mm this should still keep the background blurred enough to not distract from the subject the way you have things setup (subject not far from camera and background several yards away), though I'd have to try out the different apertures to see how things come out.

potownrob said: