My career is leading me into photography

andrewdoeshair

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi! I'll try to keep this thing brief and get right to the point. I tend to ramble...

I've been cutting hair for almost 12 years and after my iPhone photos of hairstyles earned a large Instagram following I started finding needs for higher resolution photos of my work (like magazines or web sites wanting to post pictures of my work with a brief interview about social media, or to enter certain hair competitions via photographs). After I had hired a photographer on a few separate occasions for this type of thing, I realized that I may benefit from being able to take my own photos at times, so I bought a Canon T5 with a kit lens from Best Buy and reluctantly learned how to use it. I still hire a photographer for anything important, but as soon as I purchased that entry level DSLR I started slowly upgrading my kit. I also started paying more attention to any information I could get about photography (I've been very fortunate to style hair for some well known models on pretty epic shoots. Now when I do that I buzz around the photographer and ask all the questions. Unless he's shooting Nikon, then I'm just lost). Today, about three years after buying that T5, I'm using a 5Diii with way too many lenses (I'm admittedly a gear junkie) and am more often directing shoots than just working on the hair. In an effort to stay innovative and competitive with my content I've been trying to avoid the standardized Instagram layout, the "head in a barber shop with way too much bokeh" look, and instead I've been messing with speedlites to black out the salon, or even taking my client down the street to a hiking trail to get more interesting backgrounds.