My first 7 months of photography (please critique!)

bmoffitt1990

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all!

This is my first time posting in any photography forum and I am excited to be apart of this community. I just recently got into photography (as the title alludes) and I have quickly fallen in love with it. Outside of sports (when I was younger) I never really had a hobby, so now that I am out of school, I decided to choose something that I thought would excite me and I am glad I got this one right.

I chose photography because I used to spend hours on stumbleupon going through countless portraits and landscape images that would captivate my attention and incite real emotional responses. I could feel the happiness or the pain of a crisp black and white portrait of a human being; a gorgeous rock wall leading to a single, powerful tree in the middle of a meadow made me want to go out and explore all the beauty that the earth has bestowed upon us. I realized that I wanted to take pictures that would create emotional responses within people much like the emotions that I found my self experiencing.

I am putting up some of my own favorite images that I have taken over the past 7 months, and I would like to hear your thoughts about them. Tear them to shreds, praise them, give me pointers on how to improve - whatever you would like! I have thick skin when it comes to these types of things.

My Gear (if anyone is interested)
Nikon D5100
Tokina 12-24mm F/4
Nikon 35mm F/1.8
Nikon 18-140mm F/3.5-5.6
Lee Big Stopper (10 stops)

I edit with LR5

Here are the images (if I put too many in, let me know.)
1. Indian Leap Falls. Norwich, CT
w9u6lXT.jpg

2. Tracks during a snow storm. Guilford, CT
E9WtIIb.jpg

3. Dandelion Sunset. Berkshires, MA.
sqpXls6.jpg

4. Moon Rising. Thacher State Park, NY.
TCrW4bF.jpg

5. Sunsetting behind the Albany skyline. Albany, NY
84zfYKF.jpg

6. NY State Education Building. Albany, NY.
6AGMI5m.jpg