My first ever attempts at "Artistic" photography

Brokepilot

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am new to photography and just purchased/ received a Nikon D80 for Christmas. These are my first attempt at creating anything other than a picture of family or friends. Please let me know what you think and give me any pointers that you may have. At this point all I know how to do is turn the camera on and point and shoot, but I am planning on taking classes in January and have been reading about technique and technical aspects. Thanks in advance for the input.

I took a few minutes at lunch to walk out behind our office and shoot some pictures of an old train and box car that have been out there for years. I also found an old barrell full of junk parts that was sitting, rusting in the rain. Like I said, I am new to this, but I want to learn more and any advice is greatly appreciated. I have a thick skin, so please don't hold back.

BoxCarDoor.jpg

JunkintheRain.jpg

TrainStep2.jpg

JunkinBarrell2.jpg

OK, couldn't resist. Here is one of my dog. I thought it looked kind of funny when I turned it into B&W.

AngieBW.jpg

Thanks. That seems to be the opinion of most of my friends. My photographer friend liked #3 the best.

You didn't like my dog? :biggrin: That's OK she likes everyone no matter how they feel about her.

Brokepilot said:
Thanks. That seems to be the opinion of most of my friends. My photographer friend liked #3 the best.

You didn't like my dog? :biggrin: That's OK she likes everyone no matter how they feel about her.
It would be a much more endearing photograph if the eyes were in proper focus. Unless, of course, she has a pink nose or something... but we can't tell that in black and white, now can we? ;)

I like number three, actually. Your depth of focus is spot on.

The third pic is of the step on the rear of the boxcar. I thought it kind of looked cool with the contrasts in color and texture.