My first "Gig"

RKW3

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
A lot of rambling on.. If you read it and comment somehow I'll appreciate it.

My dad told me yesterday that I have an oppurtunity to shoot at a Quinceañera celebration (when a Latino girl turns 15 I think). My dad works for a large company and I guess one of his acquaintances at work needed a photographer for this celebration. My dad showed her my photo gallery and then I guess she was impressed enough to say ok.

I've never done anything like this before, and I am just a 14 year old kid (almost 15!) who is very inexperienced. I told my dad I'll do it, so I guess I will. I'm confident in my photography, but I still have questions on how to approach this..

- How much $ should I earn for showing up and taking tons of pics? It will be an all day event at a church and maybe a park. How does $300 sound?
- What equipment am I forgetting? I'm thinking of getting the 50 and 85mm 1.8's because that set up is kinda cheap. Or should I look at a different lens?
- My dad said maybe he'd get me a D300, I don't want to be pushy and I know I am capable without one. Then the D80 could be backup.
- My dad will be my assistant/ second shooter. He has an XTi that he can borrow from work. He knows little about photography, but he is a smart guy. I'm thinking about getting the canon 50mm 1.8 for that for a backup.

About the printing, etc.:

- I'm thinking about maybe making a smugmug acct and they can order the prints seperately from there? Is smugmug a smart choice? What alternatives are there?
- Should I make a CD? I think I should, how would I copyright it so they can't copy those files onto their pc's and they can only view them? Do we have to sign a contract or something about the rights?
- Business cards? How do I make those and what should I put on it? Or maybe I don't need business cards?