My first job tomorrow... what should I be charging?

rgower

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have my first paying job tomorrow, but I have no idea what to charge. The job was referred to me from a friend who does interior decorator work and overheard the business he was redecorating wanted some photos for their website. They checked my website ( REID GOWER photofolio ) which I threw together using a flash template, and I got the job.

The business is an independently owned (but fairly large and locally well known) funeral home.... So I come to you guys to ask a few questions.

Should I be charging per hour? One lump sum for the visit? Per photo? A combination of all? What should I be looking to charge? I know you guys won't be able to say like, $103.78...... but anything ballpark would help since I've never done this before.

Thanks for any input, I'll post results too!

Probably.... does that make me ineligible for advice?

I always ask what's the client's budget before I go and start telling my fee. You would be suprised sometimes with the restults.

Cheers,

HB

www.herabell.com

This topic is so broad. What are you doing, how long will it take, how do they want to use the images, what kind of rights do they want, how many images do they want...? But I almost guarantee that you should be making a lot more than you think and more thant you'll probably ask for. If it takes half a day, and they want royalty free rights to use in advertising and wed use, I'd tell $750 or something and see what they say.

How could they hire you without knowing your rate? As far as you know they might be expecting you to work for free!

I would clear this up now and not in the morning. There is really no way of figuring your cost not knowing your overhead, how much you like to make a hour and how many hours you plan on spending on the job + after doing PP.