My First Photoshoot!

Dani97

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I got a job taking pictures of a small business owner's inventory, and she also asked me to take some pictures of her clothing on a model for the main page of her website. I informed her in the beginning that I am new to portraits/pictures of people, and she said she was absolutely fine with it...it'll be a good learning experience!

Much C&C please!

casual3.jpg

jacket1.jpg

jeans3.jpg

jeans4.jpg

jeans6.jpg

jeans7.jpg

blouse2.jpg

The focus is off on a lot of them. My best guess would be that since you were technically photographing the clothes, maybe you also focused on them? You should have focused on her eyes, but had a larger DOF to get everything else in focus. I'd also be careful of the lighting. #3 isn't a great pose, but the better alternative (#4) has a spot of light on her face near her lip which is distracting. The scattered patchy light in #5 isn't amazing either.

Do you have any type of flash besides the one built into the camera? Fill flash could have helped in some of these.

1. Looks good but out of focus.
2. Seems soft, but I like it other than the cut off limb (hand).
3. Could have been a winner but I don't care for the stance, looks like she has to pee.
4. A little Photoshop work to get rid of the reflections on her face would make this one work.
5. Needs fill light, the sun beaming in casting it's glare on her cheek ruins this one along with the squint.
6. Broader depth of field needed, face is very soft. I know the accent is the clothes but still...
7. No a flattering angle/pose for the model or the clothing. Background is blown out as well.

Okay, I'll give you my thoughts for what they're worth. First of all, I'll say that these aren't too shabby for your first time out. I know it how intimidating it can be doing portrait work. I've got a few under my belt now and I still have a confidence problem.