My First Portrait Posted

vandecarr

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

My name is Mike and I'm new here. I'm a full time photographer/digital imageer.

I thought I'd share a portrait with you, get your opinions, etc...

My wife actually took the picture and I thought she captured a nice moment of our kids with their grandpa.

I did some enhancing on it and really liked the results. I look forward to your thoughts and I hope you like it.

I should tell you what I did to it.

1-fixed levels
2-added an s-curve
3-channel mixer to monochrome then, slightly added a small amount of color back into it
4-hand colored 2 jackets and the bucket
5-added a lens flair for a dreamy look
6-used a softning trick

Scrool down just a little and you'll see the picture.

Mike V

I was going to suggest cropping out the flair before I read that you added it in. I would personally skip it. I find it a distraction. I would also crop out some of the tree in the left. That's a lot of dark space taking up the image. A crop off the left and top brings the focus a bit more on the three.

markc said:
I was going to suggest cropping out the flair before I read that you added it in. I would personally skip it. I find it a distraction. I would also crop out some of the tree in the left. That's a lot of dark space taking up the image. A crop off the left and top brings the focus a bit more on the three.

Mark, you read my mind.

Pete

Thanks,

I accidiantly uploaded the wrong picture and didn't pay attention to what I was doing.

Here is the one it was supposed to be which is almost what you both mentioned except about the lens flair. That Part I won't change in this portrait because it add's a dreamy feel to it...at least in the cropped version.

In the first one it is a major distraction.

here it is:

grandkidsfinishedweb.jpg

Mike

Why do you think a lens flair adds a dreamy feel?

I would like to see the original before PS.

JEazy said: