robyn_fresh

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
salenatrainedit.jpg

DSCF6247.jpg

DSCF6237.jpg

I dont like 1 cause why is the point of interest the train, and she looks like hella small, 2 and 3 overexposed, and 2 quite a bit of breast shot for a teenager.

I'm new to photography and even myself take no enjoyment in viewing these images however keep at it, you'll get better with time. I wish I could offer more sound advice but I've never been one to take portraits and whatnot.

1. Nobody lays across railroad tracks unless he/she is about to commit suicide. Obviously portrait photography of a pretty young lady does not suit this composition whatsoever. Very poor choice.

2&3 Direct sunlight cast shadows and is not flattering lighting for just about any type of photography. If this is the only time of day available for photography then look for a shaded area ie. under a porch, under a tree or building shadows....... Also use your camera's speedlight to add some fill light to help reduce shadows on your subjects face and depending on technique and quality of your light you could drop the ambient light a stop.

Whew! Tough room!

I know what you're going for, Robyn. But, yeah... you're not getting it.

1st view: I know the use of rails in portraiture has been quite popular with the converging lines and repetition of the ties. I find something terribly disturbing about a teen with his/her head on the tracks. And selective color was quite popular years ago, but now has limited use. This is not one of those times.

You'll want to do some reading about clothing in portraiture. Your selection here is doing nothing good for her. AND, if this was my daughter, I'd be knocking on your door wanting to know what the hell you were thinking when you made that second view.

I like the barn wood in three, but bring her out a bit... away from the wall.

I hope this is helpful.

-Pete