My First Time, and it was sooooo goooood!

Buckster

In memoriam
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So, I'm a photo hobbyist who's been shooting about 40 years. As expected, most of those years were spent shooting film and, specifically, 35mm almost exclusively. And somehow, I never developed a roll of film in my life. Always thought, "someday I'll learn that and play with it."

Then digital came along, and developing film got further from my mind as I did less and less film work.

Over the years, I've always enjoyed collecting antique cameras. Most were inexpensive and I never intended to shoot with them. Then I got a Mamiya C330 for the collection, along with a couple of lenses, and I remembered another thing I always wanted to do: explore medium format photography.

I bought some film and shot it.

Thing is, the nearest place that can handle 120 roll film is two hours drive (each way) from where I live (out in the sticks of Northern Michigan). And it's about $20 a roll for developing and a set of 5"x5" prints. It got real expensive real fast. :(

And then I remembered "someday I'll learn that (developing) and play with it."

I did some research, read up on how to do it, what supplies I'd need, and ordered them online; Tank, dark bag, thermometer, timer, chems. They were delivered this week. I practiced the spooling in the dark bag with a sacrificed roll of film several times, until I felt really confident and comfortable with it, and last night I developed my very first roll of film, shot earlier in the day with the Mamiya.

With much anticipation, I opened the tank and pulled the film off the spool and hung it to dry and have a look... I was pretty much giddy to see the images on the film, and patted myself on the back for demonstrating my uncanny ability to follow very simple instructions. :p

So that's it. No longer a virgin here! I scanned them with my Canon 8800F, and put them up in the B+W forum here: