My First Wedding Shoot... Need Some Critique Please

KooKoo102

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
My mom had an informal wedding and asked me if I would be the "photographer". The thought of doing wedding photography has always made me nervous. I explained to my mom, "I am by no means a professional and not going to provide those nice "pintrest" wedding shots" in hoping she would say not to worry about it and that she would pay someone... but that did not happen. So, I took it as a challenge.
I already have a D610 with 5 lenses. 16-35 f4g / 24-70 f2.8g / 70-200 f4g / 85 f1.8g / 105 f2.8g. Also have a sb-700, sb-910, SMDV 60 soft box, umbrella kit and other stuff that does not matter for weddings. Looking over my equipment, I felt there was a few things I needed. After doing some research I ordered an Apollo orb and 4x inch umbrella. I had that shipped to my sisters house in Orlando to help with traveling. As far as trigger for the flashes, I ordered a Pocket wizard mini, flex, and ac3 kit.
So after the ceremony, I setup the equipment and noticed I could not get the SB-700 to fire.. Was going to use it bare bulb as rim light on the hair. Feeling under pressure, I said screw it and moved on with the sb-910 in the orb. I’m overall happy with what I was able to produce for my first "wedding shoot". For the outside pics I used the 70-200 f4 with the sb-910 in the orb.
Inside I used the 24-70 f2.8 with the sb910 bouncing the ceiling with the white card out as well.
Please let me know what you think, what I did good, what I did bad, and what I could do to improve. This is a learning experience and would like as much info as possible. Thank you.

Attachments

• DSC_4203.jpg
    DSC_4203.jpg
    620.2 KB · Views: 287
  • DSC_4251.jpg
    DSC_4251.jpg
    561.9 KB · Views: 273
  • DSC_4281.jpg
    DSC_4281.jpg
    561.1 KB · Views: 275
Please let me know what you think, what I did good, what I did bad, and what I could do to improve.