My first wedding

Tolyk

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm not very experienced with portraits, but my friend couldn't find a photographer, so I volunteered. I did the shoot as a gift, but not feeling very good about the outcome, especially from the indoor shots as I was only using the built-in flash.

Anyway, let me know what you think.

1a. I wanted to go for a high key, soft focus look, but they wanted a B&W kiss shot, so 1b is what I produced. I tried to do the soft focus and couldn't make it look very good, any tips? :)
IMG_1418.jpg

1b.
IMG_1418BW.jpg

IMG_1344.jpg

IMG_1431.jpg

IMG_1509.jpg

IMG_1735.jpg

Thanks for looking :)

I like the first two and #4. I have to say that #3 is an unflattering pose for this particular bride.

well 1b works for me. in 2, next time consider putting the brides hand on top. as it is apparent that the groom did not spring for a manicure :) (usually the bride does, and you should show it off ) i agree that there may have been some better posing options in #3. but you dont' know until you try.

you are right, the on camera flash was not enough....especially on the cake shot. i usually bounce off the ceiling or walls for a cake shot.

i think 1b is the strongest. they should be very pleased.

Thanks for the input guys, really appreciate it

Some good things here...some not so good, but I think you know that. Obviously, the built-in flash makes for flat lighting. If you are going to be shooting wedding, you will want a better flash.

The hands/rings shot is a nice idea, but as mentioned, always have the bride's hands above his. Actually, most people don't have photogenic hands, if you had asked them to take off their rings, you could have made a nice shot with just the rings on the certificate.

As for the B&W shot, looks like you did a fair job of saving it, as the color version is pretty underexposed. Try adding 'Diffuse Glow' to the B&W version, and see what you think of it.