My grandsons at the beach....

cmauney

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
039.jpg

022a.jpg

The day was really foggy. My daughter wanted the pics taken to appear as if the weather was cold, so it seemed to help that the fog moved in just as we were heading down to taken the photos. I'm taking photography classes, and upon completion would like to open my own studio, so I would appreciate any comments. Thanks....

I really like the second shot...the way they're holding hands and looking out to sea, with their shirttails hanging out. Very cute!

Definitely a cute idea.
Although, the composition isn't the greatest, and the colour doesn't seem cold, it just seems lacking.. or in other words dull.

Definitely a cute idea.
Although, the composition isn't the greatest, and the colour doesn't seem cold, it just seems lacking.. or in other words dull.
Can you offer some suggestions on what is lacking? I'm really new at this, and although I can take criticism, I would like for it to be constructive criticism.

I really like #2. :)

IMHO, the colors of the photos are a little muted and so, could use some saturation.

I like the second one a lot, even though its cliche, it probably means a lot to you/your daughter because its your own kids/grandkids!
Are you familiar with photo editing software? Is your class encouraging post processing work?

A lot of photography comes with the refinement of your post processing skills. These pictures are lacking that. The levels need adjustment, because its very gray (liek you said, it was foggy). So anyhoo.. play around in photoshop, especially learning things like levels, curves, tones, and color and contrast. This was my play on the second picture. I did the following:
unsharp mask
auto levels
auto contrast
curves
lens distortion for vingetting which is a must with this kind of photography
added a photo filter, low density sepia
I think thats it.
022a.jpg