My HDR photoblog

Some very nice examples there. My only complaint and its a general one relating to HDR. I hate the over dirty cloud look and skies usually turn out terrible. Halos and again the dirty look. I think skies should be treated separately. Overall though, I like your work very much. But then Im one of those who enjoy seeing the style of over doing it.

Hey man, Thanks for that!

Im a total beginner and its really nice to get positive feed back every now and then lol.

I think HDR is totally one of those things that you either HATE or LOVE. Especially the Overdone look.

I personally love the Vibrant, super real look.

Due to my camera being a very old bridge that generates noise in mid day sunlight on ISO100 (joke, its not actually that bad, but its not far off) a lot of my HDRs suffer quite badly with noise issues.

So far I haven't really found any way of combating that.

If you have any good advice or places to go and learn more about HDR technique I would be very grateful.

Regards
Alasdair MacLeod
Alasdairs High Dynamic Range Photo Blog | Als Pics

Some very nice examples there. My only complaint and its a general one relating to HDR. I hate the over dirty cloud look and skies usually turn out terrible. Halos and again the dirty look. I think skies should be treated separately. Overall though, I like your work very much. But then Im one of those who enjoy seeing the style of over doing it.

I completely agree. It can be somewhat overcome by moving the light smoothing bar to the right, but even then if you've got a boring monotone sky it's going to look dirty. Sky conditions are one of the things I watch most when doing HDR because that's one of those things I just haven't figured out how to fix in post.