My Incredible Bargains! List yours, please.

Mitica100

Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have been collecting photo equipment for many years and a few times I've come across some incredible deals and bargains! Such as:

A Canon SBIV Rangefinder (Leica copy) with 50/1.8 Canon lens, leather case and side rail flash, Canon flex shutter release, lens caps and filters for only $20! The seller, at a local flea market, said he wanted to put the $20 towards buying a point and shoot camera. :shock:

A Kodak Ektra kit, a rare 35mm interchangeable back camera with 4 dedicated lenses, viewfinders, filters, case and manual for $180. Sold it for $2,200 in a few months and I know it's worth more now. :cry:

A Contax If, 'Made for China' with the shutter jammed for $65. Bought it, cleaned the shutter and brought it back to life, sold for $1,000. :D

An Olympus XA with side flash attachment for only $2. Needed batteries. I feel ashamed for basically stealing it. :oops:

A Leica IIIf with a Rodenstock lens stuck on it, for $25. Sold the Leica for $75 (parts) and put the Rodenstock on my 4x5 Speed Graflex, where it belongs. :p

A Polaroid 180 with a 127mm Tominon lens (very sharp) for $10. :)

A 19in/f11 Goerz Apochromatic Artar process lens for $3. I use it on my 8x10. :D

A 1934 Minolta Six (folding 120) for $5. Sold recently for $100. :)

And the list goes on...

What incredible bargains did you find?

Well, as I said in another post, much of my collection was given to me. One of the more valuable cameras given to me was a Widelux F6 which probably goes for $600 on EBAY.

I have at least a dozen cameras valued in the $100 to $300 range that were cleaned out of closets and given to me for free.

Here are some of the other deals I've found.