My Kids

canukshutterbug

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Please keep in mind I'm a newbie! Feel free to comment and make suggestions, I'm here to learn.
6.jpg

Once more I am a bit unsure as how to respond now by your "Keep in mind I am a newbie" comment ... your kids are cute and these snaps are nice and the weather was lovely and the colours are great, but again also these photos are wanting in part. Do you want to hear about it?

You will always enjoy these as part of your albums later, when your kids are bigger, and you will always think back to the times when you took these fondly. Which is one very important aspect of photography.

But I take it you would like to walk the path from taking happy family snaps to photos as in "photography"? You have the eye and it is not a hard path to walk if you observe a couple of things.

One of which is composition.
If you go look at many photos of persons, you will find out that the ones that get your attention MORE are those where the person (any subject, really, with exceptions, of course!) is not in the very centre of the photo. Let the camera focus, keep the button half-pushed, then move the camera a little to compose the person a bit to the side (preferably so the eyes have room to look into, given they don't look at the camera) and take the photo.

With your little boy on the slide, though, you obviously meant the poles to be your frame-within-the-frame. Which is a good idea! I like it! With that idea in mind, also your boy in the centre works.
But ... he has no legs.
But lots and lots of room above his head...
And poles growing out of the back of his head.
The backgrounds are as important as your subject. In the course of time you will learn to quickly evaluate a scene also for its background and how it works (or doesn't) with the subject from your given point of view. Sometimes only ONE step to the side can do the trick, see?