My math professor

cal_gundert05

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Today I learned that my math class next semester will be taught by Ken Ribet--who was instrumental in proving Fermat's Last Theorem (one of the greatest mathematical achievements of the 20th century).

While Ken Ribet didn't prove Fermat's Last Theorem, he proved that if you could prove a certain case of another theorem, then Fermat's Last Theorem would follow. The guy who actually did this was Andrew Wiles.

Just thought I would mention that. :mrgreen:

Well, I just learned that my gym teacher was arrested 2 days ago for trying to get underage girls via the internet! Apparently a cop was impersonating a 13 year old girl and he went for it. It makes me sick. Thank god i graduated from there 6 years ago.

PS: He was also the wrestling coach....

Creepy old man

We watched a video on Andrew Wiles last year in math. That man (as well as I am certain your math profesor are absolutely amazing at what they do. Wouldn't ever imagine that a^2 + b^2 = c^2 could ever be so complicated eh? Now the real question, is do you really think Fermat truly knew the answer and it was 'too big to fit in the margin' or was he just pretending?

Oh hey! Was he the one that Mr. Wile's 'broke' his secret to (after what? 7 or 9 years of working on it?) Prior to presenting it at that math convention?

Peanuts said:
We watched a video on Andrew Wiles last year in math. That man (as well as I am certain your math profesor are absolutely amazing at what they do. Wouldn't ever imagine that a^2 + b^2 = c^2 could ever be so complicated eh? Now the real question, is do you really think Fermat truly knew the answer and it was 'too big to fit in the margin' or was he just pretending?

Oh hey! Was he the one that Mr. Wile's 'broke' his secret to (after what? 7 or 9 years of working on it?) Prior to presenting it at that math convention?