my new lens is shutting off my camera!!!! why????

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by DeepSpring, Sep 6, 2006.

  1. DeepSpring

    DeepSpring TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    i just got a sigma 70-210mm telephoto lens fo rmy canon rebel k2. I went out to use it for the first time today and verythign seemed to be working fine, but then when i take a picture, the shutter would go twice and the camera shuts off and the battery sign flashes. But the battery isnt dead cause it works fine with my kit lens. Anyone know why?
     
  2. jwkwd

    jwkwd TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Western N.Y.
    Communication between the lens and the body? The Sigma might not talk to the body the way a Canon would. Or it could just be a bad lens. Was it purchased new? If so, it looks like a trip back to the store would be in order. Bring the camera with you if you can bring it back to place of purchase. If it was used, ignore everything I mentioned above.
     
  3. DeepSpring

    DeepSpring TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    i got it in exceptional + condition from keh. the lens looks brand new everything looks perfect.
     
  4. Sw1tchFX

    Sw1tchFX TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    7,500
    Likes Received:
    478
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I looked on B&H for sigma 70-210mm for the Canon mount and nothing came up. It's got to be a communication error. how old is it?
     
  5. DeepSpring

    DeepSpring TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    it looks pretty new to me it couldnt be very old
     
  6. LWW

    LWW TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Dayton,Ohio
    This may or may not help.

    Modern cameras have sensitive electronics of course. I had a Nikkor lens do pretty much the same thing with my Nikon F4s. I removed the lens and took all of the batts out of the camera, ancluding the databack, waited a few minutes, the reinstalled them after I had touched the batt contacts to make a full ground and discharge any static charge in the sysytem. Be sure you aren't walking with bare socks on carpet when you do this because you don't want to bring a static charge to the party either. Touch something else metal first to discharge yourself.

    Essentially this caused a full reboot of the system. The problem was gone and never recurred again.

    I have seen a couple people solve odd cellphone issues with the same process. It also is a semi common "fix" for auto driveability problems on new cars.

    LWW
     
  7. Jeff Canes

    Jeff Canes No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Hollywood, FLA USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    i have had to do this my cell photo sound like it could work, also check the contacts to see if they are clear use an erase to clean then if needed, the last option is have the lens re-chipped
     
  8. DeepSpring

    DeepSpring TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    ok so i talked to the guy at keh and he said that it is actually an older lens ment for older canons.

    i have the option of rechipping it but sigma was closed when i called or returning it. Does anyone know how much it costs to re chip a lens?
     

Share This Page