My old filters

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by MikeBcos, Nov 4, 2008.

1. MikeBcos

MikeBcos TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I've only had my DSLR for a few days so I am still learning digital photography. I've been digging through my old 35mm equipment and have pulled out all my old filters, do I really need them? Are the 81B and soften filters any use today when those adjustments are built into Photoshop? I know my red filter for black and white is useless but the Hoya circular polarizer does produce some nice results.

What filters do you use with digital photography? Or do you just shoot Raw and add all your filter effects in post processing?

2. benhasajeep

benhasajeep TPF Noob!

Definately keep the Circular Polarizer!!!

I have all my filters as I still shoot film as well (so far anyway). But anything you do before photoshop will save you time. May not be much though.

As for me I get the most use out of CP, ND's, and graduated ND's. Except for a couple for Black and white thats about all I have anyway.

3. MikeBcos

MikeBcos TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Oh, I won't throw any of them away, in the few days I have been shooting DSLR I've found a lot of things about it that I'm not sure I like. In many ways it is far superior to film but I really think that film does have many advantages over digital. I haven't shot any film in 10 years (marriage and new family took over my life) but I really think I will use both film and digital in the future. 35mm will be replaced with digital but I will be shooting medium and large format film, especially black and white, digital just doesn't give me what I want in black and white.

Now, if someone can tell me how to convert one of my old Polaroid Land cameras to large format I would be very happy. :D

4. shed301

shed301 TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit