My review of my new Nikon 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6

crimbfighter

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Well, I've had my new 18-300 for a week or so, now, and I've drawn a few conclusions. Just a small caveat, however, I am NOT a professional, NOR is this a professional review. These are MY experiences with the lens, and the conclusions I have drawn from them. The primary focus of my review, is also comparing it to the kit lenses it replaces. So, with that, let me begin..

Just a little background on why I bought this lens. My intent was to replace my 18-55 and 55-200 kit lenses. I waned a one lens solution for a walk around lens. The extra 100mm is what sold me on this lens over the 18-200. I bought this lens with the understanding it is a compromise lens. I'm compromising IQ for convenience. I often attend family/friend gatherings, or go to events such as airshows, where I'm not intending on getting creative, but rather will be mostly taking snapshots, and therefore, am ok with compromising some IQ for convenience. I wanted to be able to carry one lens, and leave all the other equipment/lenses behind. If I want to get creative, I plan ahead and bring better lenses.. So that's why, now onto the lens..