my turn with the box

indeedies

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So inspired by a thread posted a few days ago I went out and made my own $10 box. The plan is to photograph my mom's glass work so she can have a portfolio. Need more practice with shiny things though. Not as easy as I thought it was lol. I'm pretty new to this and while I think these are pretty decent I know there's room to improve so please let me know how.

4292418894_79cdd16652_b.jpg

4292416486_ae74f4e314_b.jpg

4291681193_ce8983a629_b.jpg

I just made one of these today too it was very fun!

What are you using to light it? The light seems uneven and to harsh on the right side.

I have my LumpoPro speedlight on the right hand side. I tried pulling the light back, powering down, opening aperature, and couldn't really keep the lighting consistent. I kind of like the light on the first one though. Too much you think?

It is kind of a cool effect on the wine bottle (maybe a bit to much but I like the shot) but the rockstar is to much I think. What power was your flash on?

I am not an expert just giving you my opinion, today was my first attempt as well!

How'd it go for you Dark? I wanted to get my second flash on the other side to try and even it out but wasn't able to do so. I'm going to need one more adapter which I'll be getting this week at the local shop lol.

Wow! Two of my all-time favorite beverages! That particular riesling is delicious, and diet RockStar, well, 'nuff said! What I see on both of the beverage shots is a slightly too-hot specular highlight, with actually burned-out areas on the wine bottle and just above the star on the RockStar. I also see a need for a bit more fill lighting on the frontal planes of both the wine bottle, the RockStar, and also the lens.