My wife

I dunno - she just looks kinda tired. I am not convinced she would find this her most flattering shot. I'd work with a different emotion - although that's just me mate.

I appreciate your opinion. However, I would like some critique about the picture per se, no matter how she looks...

I am not an expert, but I'll give it a go.

I find the darker right side a tad distracting.

That lack of contrast in the rest of the photo leaves it kind of plain. The background, couch and her face having the same sort of tones( if that came out right at all )

For someone who has become very interested in b&w(me) I think its a good start.

Technically it is okay. Low contrast but there isn't really much in the photo for contrast. Personally it's kind of dull as far as subject matter. I'm not really looking for what she is thinking or actually care since her expression is somewhat blank - maybe a little disgust but not much. (Bet she is used to you sticking the camera in her face) :)

She really does look tired.

That's just me

For me, the couch to the right is distracting. Perhaps the same shot with nothing in the background would give a different, more desolate feel.

As a portrait photographer I look for emotion in photos and can't identify what she is feeling here which leaves me feeling "off" about this one.

I also find the shadows to bit a bit too harsh on the right as well.

the couch on the right is distracting. but the offset of her in the picture is great. perhaps she is positioned a bit low on the photograph. moving her head higher toward the top of the pic would allow two things; one, the neg. space above her, i.e., the wall, would be gone giving you more opportunity to take advantage of adjusting contrast levels. two, a more dramatic pose on her part could be considered as it'd share more of her as the subject in the pic and give more emotion as you 'look up from below' so to speak.